Volunteering, Vaccinations and Vino

We’ve had a fairly busy week this week and it looks set to continue throughout December.

I had the dentist on Monday to have a crown fitted.  I’m honestly terrified of the dentist however I’m glad to say it was no where near as bad as I was expecting.  I was on the chair for almost an hour but it will definitely be worth it when it’s all finished.  I have to go back in 2 weeks time to get it all finished.  I’m not dreading it quite as much but I’m sure when the time comes it’ll be a different story.  I only ever take the girls with me to check up appointments because I really don’t want them to fear the dentist.  

Yay!  Mya did a great job at her swimming lesson on Tuesday.  She was happy and smiled throughout and we weren’t asked to leave! 👍🏼. If I’m honest I was dreading it after the last week but hopefully we’ve turned the corner!  I think it’s really important that the girls are confident in the water and learn to swim.

On Wednesday I helped out in a local school nursery for the first time.  This is me starting to build up a bank of experience for applying to do the PGDE next year.  I had such a fab time with the children.  We were making Christmas crafts to sell at the school fayre at the weekend.  The children then rehearsed their nativity play – I felt a bit emotional even though I didn’t know any of the children very well – it was very cute to watch/listen to!  I’m already looking forward to going back next week!  I’ve also managed to sort a local child minder to have Mya for a couple of hours to allow me to do this.  I think it will be good for her to spend time with someone other than us as she’s been quite clingy lately.  I’m not overly sure about the idea of leaving her with anyone but I really need to learn to let go a bit (I’m not sure what’s up with me as I didn’t feel this guilty with Eva!!). I also got an email on Friday offering me an interview for a Relief post helping out in the local schools so that would be great to be getting paid to help out.  My interview is next week so I’m sure I’ll have more in the blog next week.  

Mya got her 12 month immunisations this week too. She was really brave and calmed down quickly with a mummy cuddle after.  I felt awful at the time even although I know it’s for the best!  Oh the joys of mummy guilt 😔

We met our new nephew on Thursday.  He is such a tiny wee toot and his big sister is just adorable too!  I love a baby cuddle but I’m happy to hand them back – my broodiness has gone for the time being!😉

On Saturday I met the girls for afternoon tea at Eat on the Green.  It was amazing and we had a lovely catch up over a couple of bottles of wine after.  One of the girls is due her baby in 2 weeks time so we made it a mini baby shower and gave her some gifts.  

The Christmas shopping has been continuing this week so I feel like I’m getting there.  The girls things are almost complete, just some stocking fillers to buy (although I’m reeeaaalllly bad for buying more and more!).  I’ve managed to get a few bargains but I didn’t really get anything on Black Friday.  The plan for next week is to get our cards and wrapping paper and to sort something out for A!

I’m not sure what we’ll get up to today yet but there are a couple of local Christmas light switch ons so we might head to one of them.  I’m also hoping to get our tree up but we might wait until tomorrow…I can’t decide!🎄🎅🏼. When are you guys putting your tree and decs up?

Leave a Reply

